LibGuides: Media Psychology : Open Access Resources

Open Access

Please find links out to many Open Access resources below. Open Access resources are those which are freely available and do not require a subscription or payment. Many Open Access journals are also peer-reviewed.

Articles, books, databases, and more!

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.
DASH (Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard) This link opens in a new window
A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.
MERLOT II This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 freely-accessible materials in 19 different material type categories.
OER Commons This link opens in a new window
Open access textbooks
OpenCourseWare This link opens in a new window
MIT's course materials.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window
Rice University's free online textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The content of PMC is also included in PubMed.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAR)
8171 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 217 publishers
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Grey Source Index
A comprehensive index of gray literature resources available on the web
JURN
Advertised as "a unique search engine primarily dedicated to indexing free and 'open access' ejournals in the arts and humanities". View their news and FAQS to learn more.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Access. The authors of these dissertations and theses published their works 'open access' to make them available free of chrage.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS is a nonprofit organization created to serve the interests of scientists and the public good. In contrast to more closed publication models, openness inspires how we think about science and publishing.

Internet Archive - is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

MyJSTOR