On this page, you will find additional e-book and journal titles recommendations related specifically to the brand psychology certificate. You will also find a walkthrough of a sample search related to a brand psychology topic. The walkthrough will explain choosing terms, building a search, narrowing your results, and advanced search strategies.
Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology by
The Oxford Handbook of Internet Psychology brings together many researchers in what can be termed Internet Psychology. Though a very new area of research, Internet Psychology is a fast-growing one. In addition to well-studied areas of investigation, such as social identity theory, computer-mediated communication, and virtual communities, the book also includes articles on topics as diverse as deception and misrepresentation, attitude change and persuasion online, Internet addiction, online relationships, privacy and trust, health and leisure use of the Internet, and the nature of interactivity.
Storytelling: Branding in Practice by
Must-read for managers on a powerful branding tool of the future.
Up-to-date cases from the business world, plenty of illustrations and easy-to-use tools.
Recommended by managers of top international firms.
Covers both the internal and external benefits of storytelling for a business company.
The Essential Persona Lifecycle by
The Essential Persona Lifecycle: Your Guide to Building and Using Personas offers a practical guide to the creation and use of personas, which can help product designers, their team, and their organization become more user focused. This book is for people who just need to know what to do and what order to do it in. It is completely focused on practical tools and methods, without much explanation on why the particular tool or method is the right one.
Journal: Social Marketing Quarterly
Database: SAGE Premier
Full-Text Access: From 1999 - Present
Journal: Journal of Brand Management
Database: ABI/Inform Complete
Full-Text Access: From 9/1/2000 - 1 Year Ago
Journal: Journal of Consumer Psychology
Database: Social and Behavioural Sciences/Science Direct
Full-Text Access: 1995 - Present
Use the tabs in this box to walk through a sample search query. This is meant to give you some ideas of how you can use our databases to search for materials, refine your results, and access items of interest.
Step 1: Choose your search platform
To obtain scholarly resources, including but not limited to journal articles, dissertations and even entire books, you can choose to search one or several databases, or you can begin in FASTsearch. Remember, FASTsearch searches through most, but not all of our database content at once.
For this sample search we will use Communication and Mass Media Complete, a database from EBSCO. To connect, first follow the 'databases' link on the main library website:
Then choose 'Communication and Mass Media Complete' (or whichever resource you prefer) from the alphabetical list.
Before plugging in search terms, it can be a good idea to brainstorm some synonyms for the terms you plan to use. For example, imagine you are researching the relationship between storytelling and brand. Try jotting down a few alternative ways to describe each of your terms; these can be broader terms, narrower terms, or synonyms:
Brand Storytelling
brand names narrative
brand loyalty story
product line anecdote/anecdotal
label
Thinking of synonyms before-hand will let you find more results which are still relevant to your topic by giving you some alternate language to use in your searches. You can always discover additional search language by looking at the keywords and subject headings used to describe the articles you find most useful.
You will usually want to use the 'Advanced Search' page (databases and FASTsearch have advanced search features). The advanced page will give you more control over your search, increasing your chances of finding relevant results.
You can either use the pre-built structure in the database to enter your terms, or you can enter them all in one line. We'll show an example of each.
Pre-Built Structure
This strategy is particularly useful if you want to specify different search fields (i.e. author, title, abstract, etc.) for your terms:
Single Line
You can use this strategy if you're looking for all of your terms in the same field. When you start to use more advanced techniques, searching in a single line becomes a bit like building a math equation. Some researchers enjoy this strategy while others will prefer using set structures.
Search Results
This search yielded 45 results in total, 25 of which are scholarly journal articles. Here is a screenshot of some of the results returned:
Most databases, including FASTsearch, will provide options to narrow your results on the left side of the screen. Some of the most common ways to filter results are to limit to a certain source type (such as scholarly journals) or to limit to a certain date range (such as articles published in the last five years):
There are also more advanced filtering options. You may want to spend a little time getting familiar with these other filters and seeing how they can improve your results. Of particular note is the 'subject' filter. If you click on the link to 'more options' you can select multiple items from these lists to include or exclude in your search, which is a quick way to target those items most relevant to your research:
You may have noticed that we enclosed the term "social media" in quotation marks in our sample search. This is one of many quick search tips, called 'phrase searching', which can dramatically alter the results you find. This is a brief run-down of a few other tips, but we would recommend checking out either our Quick Tip Videos blog page or our Library Research Methods guide for full details.
Phrase Searching
Enclose multi-word search terms in quotation marks to find exact phrases. Example: "social media". If you do not enclose phrases in quotes, the database simply assumes you are looking for both terms, but it does not know you wish to find them together in a certain order.
Truncation
Use an asterisk at the end of a root word to find multiple endings. You will place the asterisk at the point at which you may start seeing variation. For example: brand*. This search would return results such as: brands, brand, branding, etc.
Proximity Search
Find terms physically near each other in a record without specifying their order. Different databases use different syntax so check their help features. In ProQuest, you build a proximity search by connecting your terms with a capital 'N', a forward slash, and then a number representing how close together you want to find the terms.
For example: organization* N/3 feedback
This search specifies that I would like to find a version of the word 'organization' within three words (or less) of the term 'feedback'. Some sample results from this search include things like:
***It's important to remember that this search function only specifies how close you find the words, but not the context. It will be highly useful for some searches and may not be helpful for others, so you will only want to use it in some cases.
Nesting
Remember those synonyms we brainstormed earlier? Nesting is a strategy that will allow you to search for multiple synonyms in one go so you don't have to run as many searches. To nest terms, you will enclose them in parentheses and separate them using the operator 'OR'.
For example: ("social media" OR "online social networks" OR Twitter OR Facebook")
The database knows that it can find any one of those terms to bring back a match.
**Note, you will almost always nest terms and add in additional keywords. You can see this in the image below:
