Skip to main content

Alumni Library Services: Home

Database Access

Why aren't all Fielding databases available to me when I graduate?

As at all academic institutions, alumni library access is not the same as that available to currently enrolled students. Most database providers restrict access to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff and we are bound by our licensing agreements to adhere to these restrictions. 

Below, we've provided links out to guides other institutions have created to help their alumni locate freely accessible resources. You can also consult the 'Open Access Resources & Data Sets' tab of this guide for more suggestions.

Remember to check out your local public library for access to electronic databases. Public libraries provide cardholders with access to databases, journals and books. You can check local public and academic library holdings using WorldCat

Also check out local universities to see if their libraries are open to the public. Many academic libraries offer on-site access to their electronic resources as well as borrowing privileges of physical materials (often for a fee). 

Resource Guides for Alumni

Freely Available Resources for Research -- a guide created by UC Berkeley for their alumni and members of the public

Freely accessible government resources and statistics --  Check out the University of Illinois' guide to free government resources

Resources and browser plug-ins to find free articles -- The 'Find Free Articles' page of WPI's 'Find Articles After Graduation' guide suggests a number of resources and even includes some handy browser plug-ins to make identifying full-text easier. 

Alumni Library Collection

Fielding is pleased to provide continued access to some of our excellent library resources. You can access our Basic Alumni Collection at no cost, or join the Fielding Alumni Network, which launches soon, at the Practitioner Level or above to access the Extended Alumni Library. To access the alumni collections connect to Fielding's Alumni Network website and register for an account: https://alumni.fielding.edu

Basic vs. Extended Collection

The Basic Collection:

  • Freely available to all alumni
  • Includes several subscription resources and a number of open access resources
  • Access content by searching for a specific journal or book titles, or selecting a database to search

 

The Extended Collection:

  • Available to Fielding Alumni Network members at the Practitioner Level or above
  • Includes 5 more subscription databases than the basic collection, including 4 from ProQuest and 1 from JSTOR
  • Includes the use of Fielding's FASTsearch, a tool that allows you to search across many databases at once.