Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Download free eBooks from these sites.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Browse Alex by Authors, Date or Title or search by keyword. Alex makes texts available to read online, or download in the following formats: PDF, Newton Paperback, Palm Pilot, or Rocket eBook.
Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
Banned Books Online
Books that have been the objects of censorship or censorship attempts.
Barnes & Noble Free eBooks
Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Find full text works by William Blake, John Calvin, Brother Ugolino, hymns, the works of early church fathers, and of course, The Bible.
Encyclopedia.com | Free Online Encyclopedia
The contents of this site were taken from the Concise Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, Third Edition. Search the contents or browse alphabetically by title.
Encyclopedia Mythica: mythology, folklore, and religion.
This award winning site is an encyclopedia on mythology, folklore and magic and can be browsed or searched.
Discover fiction, from romance to mystery, or non-fiction, from business information to self-improvement.
While there is no way to restrict search results to downloadable books only, you can limit your results to books that are fully viewable by using the Advanced Search feature of Google Books. Just select the "Full view only" option, enter your search terms and click "Google Search."
Guggenheim: From the Archives
Browse through key museum titles dating back to its founding in 1937. Click on a cover from the list, then click on Read Catalogue Online to view these excellent art books, complete with images. Also available in multiple formats from the Internet Archive.
Houston Area Digital Media Catalog
Access audiobooks and video through your local Houston and Galveston County public libraries. Must have a library card to access.
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening.
manybooks.net strives to provide eBooks in as many formats as possible.
The National Academies Press
Download as PDFs or read online. Need a free account to download.
Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive. The goal is one web page for every book ever published. Not every book listed has a free eBook version, but there are many available through Open Library and you can limit your search to eBooks.
One of the most comprehensive collections of electronic texts on the Internet. Many books can be downloaded for iPad, Kindle, Nook, Android, iPhone, iPod Touch, Sony Reader.
Publications — Central Intelligence Agency
Access the CIA publications: The World Factbook, World Leaders, maps and more.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Maintained at Stanford University, this site has an editorial board from Universities around the world. Topics that are currently covered, such as category theory and pantheism, have impressive in-depth information.
That's right--free textbooks! Most of the available books are in the sciences. Some you can only view online, others may be printed and/or downloaded.