Skip to main content

Introduction to the Library: Getting Started

Getting Started

Use the videos and screenshots on this page to help become familiar with navigating our library and our resources.  You can also view the 'Navigating the Library' PowerPoint slides below for an overivew.

Using FASTsearch

FASTsearch is the tool in Fielding's library which allows you to search most, but not all, of our database content at once. The video on this page will help you learn how to run a basic search and filter your results.  Click on the 'advanced' tab above to watch the video about advanced searching and saving your results. 

Curious to know which databases are and are not included? There a links to complete lists in the 'Search' column of our main library website.

This tutorial will explain how to use filters on the FASTsearch results page to refine your search.

View the tutorial materials below to learn about using the Advanced search features of FASTsearch.

 

This video will show you how to temporarily and permanently save searches in FASTsearch

Locating Journals and eBooks

To search for a journal, follow the 'Journals, books and databases' link from the library website. To locate articles, use FASTsearch, databases, or search within a particular journal.  View the short video below to learn how to search for journals and eBooks by title. 

Journal articles (and more!)

The Fielding Library subscribes to databases, which are different collections of journal, magazine and newspaper articles, dissertations, books, company profiles, psychological tests and measurements, and much more!

Access the databases under the Research Resources tab:

Often, multiple databases are owned by one vendor, such as ProQuest or EBSCOhost. A time-saving technique is to search all databases belonging to a vendor at once. Our library has approximately 17 databases owned by ProQuest, and approximately 11 by EBSCOhost.

See the boxes below to cross-search multiple databases at one time.

ProQuest Databases

Our ProQuest databases are: ABI/INFORM Complete, Dissertations & Theses@Fielding Graduate University, ebrary e-books, ERIC, PTSD Pubs, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest Research Library, PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycINFO.                                      

To search all ProQuest Databases at once:

1) Click on a ProQuest Database (choose from the list above).

2) Click on the 'all databases' link at the top of the screen.

 

 

3) On the next screen, click on the 'databases (13)' link at the top of the screen.

4) Choose 'select all', or go through the list and select just the ones you want.  Then click 'use selected databases'.

      

EBSCOHost

Our EBSCOhost databases are: Communication & Mass Media Complete, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, GreenFILE, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Teacher Reference Center, Regional Business News, Business Source Elite, Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson), OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson

To search all EBSCOhost Databases at once:

1) Click on an EBSCOhost Database (choose from the list above).

2) You'll see what database you are currently searching. You can search more by clicking on the "Choose Databases" link.

 

3) A pop-up window will appear. Select the databases you want to search by checking their boxes accordingly.