Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: Download them or read them online.
PubMed - PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central - PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The content of PMC is also included in PubMed.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Access. The authors of these dissertations and theses published their works 'open access' to make them available free of chrage.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) - PLOS is a nonprofit organization created to serve the interests of scientists and the public good. In contrast to more closed publication models, openness inspires how we think about science and publishing.
Child & Family Data Archive - C&F Data Archive hosts datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. Note that some data access is restricted. Visit the site's FAQ page to learn how to apply to access restricted data.
data.gov - The home of U.S. government's open data
OpenDataSoft - A comprehensive list of 2600+ open data portals around the world.
Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse - This page provides an overview of surveys and databases which may be used by researchers, practitioners, policymakers, and funders in the self-sufficiency field. The description, population, and periodicity (or frequency of data collection) is provided for each database and survey.