Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Clinical Psychology : Tests & Measures

Full text?

Unable to find a test or instrument in PsychTESTS or HaPI?

Search Google Scholar - Look for the "Full Text @ Fielding" link, or it may be posted freely online.

Instrument Types

Tests

There are a variety of sources that can be used to search for assessments: books, databases, Internet search engines, web sites, journal articles, and dissertations.

  • Some have descriptions only; others have the full instrument.
  • Some test and measure are freely available online.
  • Many test are only available for sale by a commercial publisher.  
  • Others may only be available by contacting the person who developed it.

Locating Tests and Measures

Specialized instrument databases are available in the alphabetical databases list that is accessed from the "Journal, Books and Databases" link on the main Library Services page:

 

FULL TEXT OF TESTS

PsycTESTS - Provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments.

  • Most records include the actual test instrument
  • Focuses primarily on unpublished tests, those developed by researchers but not made commercially available
  • Most records link to a variety of materials describing the test in peer-reviewed literature, technical reports, or dissertations as well as links to related peer-reviewed literature describing test development, review, or use
  • All records include a summary that describes the test, with its purpose and some history of its development

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
A comprehensive bibliographic database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Many have the actual instrument.  Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques and more.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES AND INDEXES

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) and Tests in Print
MMY is a guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. For each test MMY provides descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language, and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series. MMY provides coverage from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition, raising the total number of full-text reviews available to over 10,000. 

Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.  A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. 

 

Definitions