LibGuides: Open Access Resources & Data Sets: Open Access Resources & Data Sets

Articles & more!

BioMed Central - Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.
DASH (Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard) - A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAR) - 8171 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 217 publishers
Directory of Open Access Journals - DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Grey Source Index A comprehensive index of gray literature resources available on the web
Internet Archive - is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
JURN - Advertised as "a unique search engine primarily dedicated to indexing free and 'open access' ejournals in the arts and humanities". View their news and FAQS to learn more.
MERLOT II - Over 40,000 freely-accessible materials in 19 different material type categories
MyJSTOR - Sign up and read up to six free JSTOR articles per month!
OER Commons - Open access textbooks
OpenCourseWare - MIT's course materials.
OpenStax - Rice University's free online textbooks.
Project Gutenberg - Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: Download them or read them online.
PubMed - PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central - PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The content of PMC is also included in PubMed.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations - ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Access. The authors of these dissertations and theses published their works 'open access' to make them available free of chrage.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) - PLOS is a nonprofit organization created to serve the interests of scientists and the public good. In contrast to more closed publication models, openness inspires how we think about science and publishing.

Data sets

Bureau of Justice Statistics: https://www.bjs.gov/content/ncsx.cfm
Bureau of Labor Statistics: https://www.bls.gov/
Census Data: https://www.census.gov/data.html
Child & Family Data Archive - C&F Data Archive hosts datasets about young children, their families and communities, and the programs that serve them. Note that some data access is restricted. Visit the site's FAQ page to learn how to apply to access restricted data.
data.gov - The home of U.S. government's open data
Harvard’s Murray Archive Dataverse
HealthData.gov - Health data sets. Managed by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Mendeley Data
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN): https://www.ndacan.acf.hhs.gov/index.cfm
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics: https://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/statistics/index.shtml
National Center for Education Statistics: https://nces.ed.gov/
OpenDataSoft - A comprehensive list of 2600+ open data portals around the world.
Self-Sufficiency Research Clearinghouse - This page provides an overview of surveys and databases which may be used by researchers, practitioners, policymakers, and funders in the self-sufficiency field. The description, population, and periodicity (or frequency of data collection) is provided for each database and survey.