Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Research Center offers policy analysis and research from the AARP Public Policy Institute and findings from research conducted by or for AARP.
The Forum has played a key role by critically evaluating existing data resources and limitations, stimulating new database development, encouraging cooperation and data sharing among Federal agencies, and preparing collaborative statistical reports
Child Trauma Academy
The mission of the Academy is to help improve the lives of traumatized and maltreated children in three, primary ways: education, service delivery and program consultation.
Child Welfare League of America
CWLA is an association of more than 900 public and private nonprofit agencies that assist more than 3.5 million abused and neglected children and their families each year with a range of services.
Children's Rights uses its expertise to build the political and public pressure needed to compel child welfare bureaucracies to change. We put failing systems under close scrutiny, identify the problems and generate solutions.
Children's Safety Network
A resource center for maternal and child health and injury prevention professionals in state health departments who are committed to reducing injuries and violence among children and adolescents.
National Children's Advocacy Center
The National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC) is a non-profit organization that provides training, prevention, intervention and treatment services to fight child abuse and neglect.
National Council on Child Abuse and Family Violence
Contains fact sheets on child abuse and neglect. Also contains full-text articles on these subjects.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Promotes scholarly exchange among researchers in the child maltreatment field. NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making. Through this Web site, we offer research and data resources for researchers, policy makers, practitioners, and others.
Dedicated to improving the lives of children by conducting research and providing science-based information to improve the decisions, programs, and policies that affect children and their families.
Offers easy access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment,and education.
Centerwatch Clinical Trials Listing Service
Use this site to find a wealth of information about clinical research, including listings of more than 41,000 active industry and government-sponsored clinical trials, as well as new drug therapies in research and those recently approved by the FDA.
Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details
Southwest Oncology Group (SWOG)
An adult cancer clinical trials organization, one of the largest in the world. Our National Cancer Institute-sponsored Cooperative Group's membership and network consists of almost 4,000 of the nation's leading physicians
American Counseling Association
By providing leadership training, publications, continuing education opportunities, and advocacy services to nearly 52,000 members, ACA helps counseling professionals develop their skills and expand their knowledge base.
The American School Counselor Association
The association provides professional development, publications and other resources, research and advocacy to more than 15,000 professional school counselors around the globe.
National Board of Certified Counselors
Provides standards, certification, and an ethics code for counselors.
Sign up and read up to six free JSTOR articles per month!
WONDER provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data.
Global Health Facts
Provides free, up-to-date and easy-to-access data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses.
World Health Organization
Is the United Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health.
Evidence-Based Mental Health (EBMH) Online
Evidence-Based Mental Health alerts clinicians to important advances in treatment, diagnosis, aetiology, prognosis, continuing education, economic evaluation and qualitative research in mental health.
Mental Health Work Group
The overall goal of the work group is to foster collaboration and advancement in the field of mental health in support of CDC's commitment to promote health, prevent disease and injury, and improve quality of life.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Contains links to various news, information, research, and more on mental health.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
Provides the latest national data on alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and other drug use, drug related emergency department episodes and medical examiner cases, and the nation's substance abuse treatment system.
American Journal of Psychiatry
Peer-reviewed articles focus on developments in biological psychiatry as well as on treatment innovations and forensic, ethical, economic, and social topics. Free full-text access from 1997 to 1.5 years ago.
American Psychiatric Association
Its over 35,000 U.S. and international member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders.
Annals of General Psychiatry
An Open Access, peer-reviewed, online journal covering the wider field of Psychiatry, Neurosciences and Psychological Medicine.
Freely-accessible Data Sets
Articles, books, databases, and more!
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine and Health.
DASH (Digital Access to Scholarship at Harvard) This link opens in a new window
A central, open-access repository of research by members of the Harvard community.
MERLOT II This link opens in a new window
Over 40,000 freely-accessible materials in 19 different material type categories.
OER Commons This link opens in a new window
Open access textbooks
OpenCourseWare This link opens in a new window
MIT's course materials.
OpenStax This link opens in a new window
Rice University's free online textbooks.
Open Textbook Library
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). The content of PMC is also included in PubMed.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAR)
8171 Academic peer-reviewed books and chapters from 217 publishers
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Grey Source Index
A comprehensive index of gray literature resources available on the web
Advertised as "a unique search engine primarily dedicated to indexing free and 'open access' ejournals in the arts and humanities". View their news and FAQS to learn more.
ProQuest Open Access Dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Open Access. The authors of these dissertations and theses published their works 'open access' to make them available free of chrage.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
PLOS is a nonprofit organization created to serve the interests of scientists and the public good. In contrast to more closed publication models, openness inspires how we think about science and publishing.
- Internet Archive - is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.