Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ERIC: What it Includes/How to Use it
Did You Know?
Fielding Library Services can obtain book chapters and journal articles not owned by our library via our interlibrary loan service. Students may order up to 5 articles per month at no cost. If the loan services owns the work they will scan and email you a PDF copy, typically within 1-3 business days. See the "Order An Article" option on our website.
Before sending the request, check FASTsearch, the journal/e-book collection, and Google Scholar.
Education and Interdisciplinary Resources (log-in to library to access)
The Fielding library also offers access to a variety of other databases covering many subjects and disciplines. All databases are accessible via the Fielding Library website which can be reached via Moodle or MyFielding
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, which includes some full-text scholarly literature, conference proceedings, government documents and reports.
JSTOR Arts and Sciences IV This link opens in a new window
This collection has a strong focus on the business, education, and law professions and also includes titles in psychology, public policy, and administration. Among the titles are highly influential and diverse publications from leading professional organizations in the fields of business and the social sciences.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with thousands of full-text titles, with a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, important and general interest magazines.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Psychology Journals encompasses a wide range of topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more. A number of the titles are heavily cited and have a strong set of ISI impact factors.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to more than 900 peer-reviewed journals (over 700,000 articles). Complimentary access back to 1999 (where available). Interdisciplinary content including social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
The Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library provides access to over 1,400 must-have online journals from Routledge, the pioneering social science and humanities publisher.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1500 journals, over 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Sample Book Titles
The Oxford Handbook of Leadership by The Oxford Handbook of Leadership explores the complex relationship between leader, led, and the environment that constitutes leadership. Divided into five parts, it provides comprehensive coverage of the field, exploring the roles individual attributes, training, and development play in generating a leader who is capable of performing effectively
Publication Date: 2012-11-30
Aspirations, Education and Social Justice by Caroline Sarojini Hart presents a radical new paradigm for thinking about the role of education in the development of human flourishing. Aspirations, Education and Social Justice applies Amartya Sen's capability approach to understanding the nature of aspirations, in the light of a critical analysis of policies to widen participation in education. Sen's work is synthesised with key concepts from Pierre Bourdieu to develop an analytical framework for understanding the processes influencing the development and realization of aspirations.
Publication Date: 2012-11-22
Action Research in Education by This hands-on and user-friendly book uses illustrative case studies to demonstrate and explore the potential for change in real social situations. This book seeks to assert the academic integrity of action research and to de-mystify the process.
Each chapter includes:
- a 'how to' section based on concrete examples and dilemmas
- commentary that relates examples to the broader field
- a discussion of the underlying theoretical approach
- discussion and exploration of quality issues
- discussion of ethical and pragmatic decision-making
Publication Date: 2013-04-05
Demystifying Dissertation Writing by Few scholars, let alone graduate students, have been taught habits of writing fluency and productivity. The writing skills imparted by this book will not only help the reader through the dissertation writing process, but will serve her or him in whatever career she or he embarks on, given the paramount importance of written communication, especially in the academy.
Publication Date: 2009-09-28