Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Handbook Titles
The Oxford Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Development by "The goal of The Oxford Handbook of Intellectual Disability and Development is to update the field with new, precise research and sophisticated theory regarding individuals with ID provided by seasoned developmental theorists who have made original conceptual contributions to the field. This volume is divided into five general sections (ID and its connection to genetics, relationships, cognitive development, socio-emotional development, and development of language)..."
Publication Date: 2011-08-29
The Oxford Handbook of Child Psychological Assessment by "The psychological assessment of children and youth has undergone some of the greatest developments, and those developments are the focus of this Handbook. The volume is organized primarily, but not exclusively, around clinical and psychoeducational assessment issues. It revisits the foundations that underlie current psychological assessment practices. Linked with these foundations are chapters addressing some of the fundamental principles of child assessment..."
Publication Date: 2013-04-17
The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Disability by "The Oxford Handbook of Positive Psychology and Disability is the first comprehensive text providing a foundation for research and practice focusing on positive attributes of disability. The handbook’s introductory chapters introduce a paradigmatic change in how disability itself is understood, leading to the opportunity to focus research and practice regarding positive psychology’s emphasis on optimal human functioning to understand and support people with disabilities."
Publication Date: 2013-08-22
The Oxford Handbook of the Development of Play by "The role of play in human development has long been the subject of controversy. Despite being championed by many of the foremost scholars of the twentieth century, play has been dogged by underrepresentation and marginalization in literature across the scientific disciplines. The Oxford Handbook of the Development of Play attempts to examine the development of children’s play through a rigorous and multidisciplinary approach. This book aims to reset the landscape of developmental science and makes a compelling case for the benefits of play."
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
Top IECD Databases (accessible via Moodle)
The Fielding library also offers access to a variety of other databases covering many subjects and disciplines. All databases are accessible via the Fielding Library website which can be reached via Moodle or MyFielding.
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An education database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, which includes some full-text scholarly literature, conference proceedings, government documents and reports.
Oxford Handbooks Online Psychology This link opens in a new window
In over 160 handbooks, leading scholars provide articles that examine key issues and major debates and provide arguments for how those debates might evolve.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. Coverage: 1894 - current
PsychiatryOnline Premium Package This link opens in a new window
American Psychiatric Association Publishing books, including the DSM-5 and DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, journals and news from 1997- present.
psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A streaming collection of 100 videos includes actual and staged clinical interviews done by key figures using a variety of modalities.
PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain non-evaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that users can stay informed in their fields and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Zero to Three
Zero to Three is a non-profit "that provides parents, professionals and policymakers the knowledge and know-how to nurture early development." Fielding students and faculty can access Zero to Three content directly on their website: https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/series/journal-archive. First, you must create an account on their site using your Fielding email address. Then, once logged in to your account, you can navigate to the archive to access content. If you have any access issues or questions please contact the library and we are happy to assist: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Useful Journal Titles
Database: SAGE Humanities and Social Sciences
Journal: Infant Mental Health
Journal: Child Development