On this page you will find lists of recommended databases, journals, and book titles. Please note that you can toggle between journals available in our collection and those outside of the collection using the tabs at the top of the box.
This is a list of some of the best databases for evidence based coaching. The Fielding library also offers access to a variety of other databases covering many subjects and disciplines. All databases are accessible via the Fielding Library website.
ABI/Inform Complete (by ProQuest)
ABI/INFORM Complete includes important full‐text journals and much sought‐after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Through agreements with some of the world’s most prestigious publishers—including Cambridge University Press, Dow Jones & Company, Emerald Group Publishing, Dun and Bradstreet, Palgrave MacMillan, the Financial Times Group, and the Economist Intelligence Unit—ProQuest provides access to hundreds of key business titles. Additional Information.
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
This resource provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. The collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more. Back issues of the Harvard Business Review dating back to 1985 are located here as well.
A business database from Emerald Publishing group containing peer-reviewed publications.
SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Check out our tutorial video here (best viewed full screen).
Taylor and Francis Social Sciences and Humanities Library
The Taylor & Francis Social Science & Humanities Library provides online access to a broad range of journal content across 14 subject areas. Delivering online access to over 1,400 cutting-edge journals with a backfile extending to 1997. Coaching: An International Journal of Theory, Research and Practice is included in this database.
Provides over 1600 full text journals covering a variety of social science, health/medicine, and other disciplines from 1997 ff. Its strengths include journals on developmental psychology, the behavioral sciences, higher education, and business management. Training and tutorials here.
Journal: Coaching: An international journal of theory, research, and practice
Database: Taylor & Francis
Full-Text Access: 03/01/2008 to Present
Journal: Consulting Psychology Journal
Database: PsycARTICLES
Full-Text Access: From 1992 - Present
Journal: International Journal of Evidence Based Coaching and Mentoring
Database: Open Access - available freely online
Full-Text Access: From 2003 - Present
Journal: Training Journal
Database: ABI/Inform Complete
Full-Text Access: From 1999- Present
Journal: Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Database: PsycARTICLES
Full-Text Access: From 1968 - Present
Journal: Philosophy of Coaching: An international journal
Database: Freely accessible on the web
Full-Text Access: From 2016 - Present
Journal: The Coaching Psychologist
Publisher: British Psychological Society (BPS)
How To Access: You can purchase individual issues directly from the publication's website
Journal: International Coaching Psychology Review
Publisher: British Psychological Society (BPS)
How To Access: You can purchase individual issues directly from the publication's website
Journal: Coaching Perspectives
Publisher: The Association for Coaching
How to Access: Members of the Association for Coaching can access this publication as a benefit of membership. You can learn more on the Association for Coaching website
Journal: choice, the magazine of professional coaching
How to Access: Individuals can purchase yearly subscriptions (print/digital) to choice or can purchase single back issues (print or PDF) by clicking here.
Below you will find a short list of sample e-book titles related to your program. To access E-Books, follow the 'Journal and Book Titles' link on the main library webpage. Check out the E-Books video on the home page of this guide for more information. Fielding University Press publications are available as PDFs by clicking on the 'Fielding Press' link on the library website (under the Research tab).
The Handbook of Knowledge-Based Coaching by
In The Handbook of Knowledge-Based Coaching, a stellar international panel of more than twenty practitioners offer anoverview of the major theoretical models and sources of knowledgethat have contributed to current coaching practice. For each theor yand knowledge area there are specific examples of how it might effectively be applied in a coaching engagement and recommended resources for further study.
Innovations in Leadership Coaching by
This book offers a broad and multi-disciplinary overview of coaching in the twenty-first century, with contributions from 27 leading coaches and coach educators across North America, Europe and Asia.
Professional Coaching by
Incorporating a wealth of knowledge from international experts, this is an authoritative guide to provide a comprehensive overview of professional coaching. Grounded in current research, it addresses the historical, ethical, theoretical, and practice foundations of professional coaching, and examines such key therapeutic approaches as acceptance and commitment, internal family systems, psychodynamic, and interpersonal. In easily accessible language, the book discusses core considerations for effective practice such as presence, meaning-making, mindfulness, emotions, self-determination, and culture.
The Transforming Leader: New Approaches to Leadership for the Twenty-first Century by
Based on three years of study into the topic of transformational leadership, this is a definitive guide to becoming a leader for positive change.
Becoming a Coach by
Authored by masters in the field of coaching, this book is designed as a course textbook for those studying coaching in general, but with a specific reference to the updated competences introduced by the International Coaching Federation in 2020. It focuses on core coaching skills, knowledge, and developing self-awareness.
The SAGE Handbook of Coaching by
The SAGE Handbook of Coaching presents a comprehensive, global view of the discipline, identifying the current issues and practices, as well as mapping out where the discipline is going. The Handbook is organized into six thematic sections: Part One: Positioning Coaching as a Discipline Part Two: Coaching as a Process Part Three: Common Issues in Coaching Part Four: Coaching in Contexts Part Five: Researching Coaching Part Six: Development of Coaches
Coaching for Leadership by
THE THIRD EDITION of the classic book Coaching for Leadership is written for today's coaches who are challenged with the task of combining concepts from arious disciplines in order to help their clients, especially high-potential leaders, learn and succeed. In this sense, coaches have to become discriminating eclectics, developing a keen sense of judgment to select which ideas are best woven into their coaching method and which concepts are best to ignore. Coaching for Leadership is intended to be a cherished companion in that learning journey presented by the world's greatest coaches, including: Marshall Goldsmith, Paul Hersey, Beverly Kaye, Dave Ulrich, and many more.
Psychological Dimensions of Executive Coaching by
This book shows how performance-related issues in the workplace often have a psychological dimension to them and provides an understanding of how to work in more depth to help people resolve issues and unlock their potential.
The Completely Revised Handbook of Coaching by
When it was published in 1999, The Handbook of Coaching was the first resource to offer a compendium of basic information about the then-burgeoning field of adult coaching—the art of guiding individuals and organizations to function at their most effective and creative levels. Like the first edition, The Completely Revised Handbook of Coaching is based on the groundbreaking work of the Hudson Institute. This revised edition takes a holistic model of development and change in coaching—one that encompasses and accounts for the context in which we live while acknowledging our individual journey in life.
Effective Group Coaching by
Group coaching is rapidly becoming the preferred coaching option for businesses and individuals. Effective Group Coaching is a practical, resource rich, hands-on guide for the group coaching facilitator in one of the fastest growing new disciplines. Organizations, community groups and individuals are discovering that group coaching is an exciting and sustainable model and process for learning and growth. Written for internal and external coaches, HR professionals, trainers and facilitators wanting to expand their work into this area, this book provides tested methodologies and tools and tips.
Multidimensional Executive Coaching by
This unique book, written by a trained psychologist and executive coach with decades of experience as a business executive, offers a step-by-step guide to the practice of executive coaching. Using actual case studies, the author builds a multidimensional approach to coaching; clients are encouraged to look at multiple forces in their lives, including the Individual and the Organization, Unconscious Forces, Multi-Level Forces, and their Use of Self. Examining each force then guides the executive coach in joint goal setting, commitment to a coaching contract, meeting objectives, evaluating outcomes, and concluding the coaching process.
The Psychology of Coaching, Mentoring and Learning by
The Psychology of Coaching, Mentoring and Learning addresses the psychological principles upon which organizational and industrial coaching and mentoring is based. The new edition of this text is updatd with new research, taking into account the growth of positive psychology and its role in coaching and mentoring. This book is ideal for coaches, mentors, trainers, psychologists, senior executives, managers, and students with an interest in this field.
This practitioner's guide is written for nonprofit board members, chief executives, senior staff members, and anyone who wants to reflect on governance, discern how to govern better, and achieve higher performance in the process.
Reflective Practice and Supervision for Coaches by
This practical book helps coaches to improve their practice through reflection and professional support in their work. It explains how these developments can be made alone, with colleagues or with a supervisor, utilising a range of tried and tested frameworks. Starting with a section on the function of reflection and supervision in the coaching arena, the book moves on to discuss ways that the processes of reflection and supervision might be analyzed. Finally, the book addresses some specific models that coaches might like to try to improve their practice.
Systemic Coaching by
Systemic Coaching contains key chapters on how to contract in various settings, how to work relationally and dialogically, how to expand our own and others’ ecological awareness, how to get greater value from supervision, work with systemic ethics and expand our impact.
Helping People Change by 
The Coaches' Handbook by
Unique in its scope, this key text will be essential reading for coaches, academics and students of coaching. It is an important text for anyone seeking to understand the best practice approaches that can be applied to their coaching practice, including human resources, learning and development and management professionals, and executives in a coaching role.