All students have access to the Writing Support Services Moodle page among their list of automatically enrolled courses. From that page you can: request an appointment with a writing coach, review tutorial videos, access writing resources, and more.
The best resource for APA style and citations is the APA Publication Manual. The APA recently (Oct. 2019) released the 7th Edition of their style manual. You can read the introduction which lists many of the changes by clicking here. The resources below are excellent supplements to the guide itself.
You can use the 'Journals, Books and Databases' link on the main library site to search for more books related to writing. Follow the steps below to get started.
1. Click on the 'Journals, Books and Databases' link on the library website.
2. At the top of the next screen click on 'Books Only'. Set the drop-down menu to 'title contains all words'.
3. In the search box, input keywords you wish to see in a book's title. Some suggested searches include:
Here is a screenshot of one such search:
The SAGE Research Methods database contains many resources related to writing and disseminating research. You can access this collection by click on the 'Journals, Books and Databases' link on the library website and then choosing 'SAGE Research Methods' from the alphabetic list on the next page.
Upon connecting to the database, hover over 'Browse' at the top of the screen and then select 'Writing and disseminating research' from the topic list:
After selecting a topic, you will be taken to the 'Methods Map' (a visual search tool). If you want to see all of the related content, click on the blue link labeled 'Search all content on communicating and disseminating research'. If you want to refine your topic further, click on one of the 'narrower terms' listed on the right side of the screen. Once you've landed on your topic of interest, click on the blue link above the main content area that says 'search all content...' to be connected to the results list:
Once you've made a selection you will have further refinement options on the right side of the results page. You can limit further by content type, discipline, etc.:
Video tutorials from Excelsior College Online Writing Lab
The PDFs below were created by the APA and offer information about the guidelines in the 7th Edition Manual. Please remember to consult syllabi for instructor-specific guidelines for any written assignments.
Academic Writing by
The purpose of the fourteen chapters of this monograph is to provide an introduction to the practice of academic writing with an emphasis on prose writing in particular, for both print-based and online media. Each of the fourteen chapters explores different aspects of academic writing from practical, professional and theoretical perspectives.
The Craft of Research by
Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique.The fourth edition has been thoroughly but respectfully revised by Joseph Bizup and William T. FitzGerald. It retains the original five-part structure, as well as the sound advice of earlier editions, but reflects the way research and writing are taught and practiced today.
Demystifying Dissertation Writing by
Research shows that five strategies correlate with the successful completion of a dissertation: Establishing a consistent writing routine Working with a support group Consulting your advisor Understanding your committee's expectations Setting a realistic and timely schedule Building on these insights, this book is for anyone who needs help in preparing for, organizing, planning, scheduling, and writing the longest sustained writing project they have encountered, particularly if he or she is not receiving sufficient guidance about the process, but also for anyone looking to boost his or her writing productivity.
Publishing Journal Articles by
This accessible, informative and entertaining book provides practical strategies to help maximize the chances of success in getting your work published in the journal of your choice. It offers advice on vital topics such as: how to write and get the style right; what to select for publication; how to plan for success; how to cope with writer's block; working with editors and reviewers; and how to cope with rejection.
Stylish Academic Writing by
For scholars frustrated with disciplinary conventions, and for specialists who want to write for a larger audience but are unsure where to begin, here are imaginative, practical, witty pointers that show how to make articles and books a pleasure to read--and to write. Dispelling the myth that you cannot get published without writing wordy, impersonal prose, Sword shows how much journal editors and readers welcome work that avoids excessive jargon and abstraction.