Skip to main content

Media Psychology : Writing Resources

Your guide to finding and using library databases, journals, and web resources in the field of media psychology.

Writing Center Tutor

The Fielding Virtual Writing Center provides resources for the development and refinement of scholarly writing. 

For one-on-one assistance, book a 50 minute individual appointment with a writing center coach by emailing our tutor, Dr. Kari Lannon: klannon@fielding.edu. In your email, be sure to include: your time zone, a few times over the next 1-2 weeks you are available, and indicate any specific questions, areas of concern, why you are seeking services, etc.

APA Resources

The best resource for APA style and citations is the APA Publication Manual. The APA recently (Oct. 2019) released the 7th Edition of their style manual. You can read the introduction which lists many of the changes by clicking here. The resources below are excellent supplements to the guide itself. 

Resources from Other Institutions

Find More Writing Resources in the Library

You can use the 'Journal and Book Titles' link on the main library site to search for more books related to writing. Follow the steps below to get started.

1. Click on the 'Journal and Book Titles' link on the library website. 

2. At the top of the next screen click on 'Books Only'.  Set the drop-down menu to 'title contains all words'.

3. In the search box, input keywords you wish to see in a book's title. Some suggested searches include:

  • academic writing
  • dissertation writing
  • dissertation research 

Here is a screenshot of one such search:

The SAGE Research Methods database contains many resources related to writing and disseminating research. You can access this collection by click on the 'Databases' link on the library website and then choosing 'SAGE Research Methods' from the alphabetic list on the next page. 

Upon connecting to the database, hover over 'Browse' at the top of the screen and then select 'Writing and disseminating research' from the topic list:

After selecting a topic, you will be taken to the 'Methods Map' (a visual search tool). If you want to see all of the related content, click on the blue link labeled 'Search all content on communicating and disseminating research'. If you want to refine your topic further, click on one of the 'narrower terms' listed on the right side of the screen. Once you've landed on your topic of interest, click on the blue link above the main content area that says 'search all content...' to be connected to the results list:

Once you've made a selection you will have further refinement options on the right side of the results page. You can limit further by content type, discipline, etc.:

 

 

Loading ...

APA Quick Guides

The PDFs below were created by the APA and offer information about the guidelines in the 7th Edition Manual. Please remember to consult syllabi for instructor-specific guidelines for any written assignments. 

Books Available in the Library