This is the "WebEx Instruction Seminar Schedule" page of the "WebEx Library Instruction Seminars" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fielding Graduate University
Admin Sign In 

WebEx Library Instruction Seminars  Tags: webex instruction information_literacy videos recordings databases  

Check out our updated list of all library instruction seminars taking place via WebEx. These include NSO tours, DOCs sessions, and sessions on topics such as finding full text and Boolean searching.
Last update: Mar 03rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.fielding.edu/webex  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

WebEx Instruction Seminar Schedule            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

WebEx Instruction Seminar Schedule

Instruction Seminars

Below is a schedule of upcoming live seminars on WebEx from Library Services. All times are Pacific Time (PST). You should have a high-speed Internet connection and either a telephone, cell phone, or telephony service (for the long-distance teleconference with the librarian) to participate. If nobody has registered for a seminar an hour before it is scheduled to start, or if there are no attendees within 10 minutes of its start time, that seminar will be cancelled.

If you are unfamiliar with attending WebEx seminars, please look at the WebEx Help Page. Contents, length, and schedule of seminars are subject to change.

We have also created an anonymous online seminar evaluation form, which we encourage you to fill out after seminars have ended. Your feedback will help us with future seminar revisions and administration.


  • Library tours - orientation tours of our library and its resources, including basic tips on retrieving full text journal articles, books, and dissertations online and in print


  • Library office hours - drop in and ask a question. Get live, interactive help from a librarian.

  • How to conduct research for your KAs, comp exams, & dissertations - explains how to conduct effective and comprehensive searches in library databases for books, dissertations, journal articles, and more. The methodical search strategies shown will be applicable both to comprehensive exam research and dissertation literature reviews. Also will show effective uses of AND & OR, and ways to search for combinations of words and phrases in library databases and Internet search engines. Registration required, but not passwords.

  • MA CEL Library Instruction Session - In the session, we will use actual student research topics to determine which Library databases to search. Using these topics, we will learn how to effectively search the education databases ERIC, Education Full Text, and ProQuest Education Journals and how to access the full text of ERIC documents. This session will include information on research strategies and how to build a search query in order to find quality, scholarly results. Bring your questions!

  • Searching library databases covering PSY and Media PSY - This seminar shows how to effectively search online library databases applicable to PSY and Media PSY, such as PsycINFO, ProQuest Psychology Journals, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Mental Measurements Yearbook, and Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC). Registration required, but not passwords.

  • Searching library databases covering HOD and OMD - This seminar shows how to effectively search online library databases applicable to HOD and OMD, such as ABI/Inform, ProQuest Research Library, PsycINFO, and Emerald Fulltext. Registration required, but not passwords.

  • Searching library databases covering ELC - This seminar shows how to effectively search online library databases applicable to ELC, such as ERIC, ProQuest Education Journals, and OmniFile Full Text Select. Registration required, but not passwords.

  • Searching the web effectively - This half-hour seminar shows how to search the web effectively using various search engines, meta-search engines, and directories. Explains what types of search commands work effectively. Registration required, but not passwords.

  • Library Research Fundamentals - Graduate students need well developed on-line search skills. When at home and either searching the web or our subscription databases, you do not have a knowledgeable reference librarian with you. That is why you need to acquire your own sophisticated information-searching skills. This seminar will guide you through the literature review process, including subject searches, and show how to use online search strategies to get them done efficiently. For literature reviews, the librarian will show how to use online library databases and web resources.
  • Library Potpourri - Anything and everything you'd like to ask about using the Library.

  • Library instruction for required ELC KAs - Designed for new(er) students, this seminar teaches you how to find required or suggested readings from ELC KAs in Fielding's library, and how to retrieve those readings even when Fielding's library doesn't have them. It will also demonstrate effective techniques for conducting research for required KA papers. The fundamental concepts and instruction delivered in this seminar will be applicable to your future studies, including KA's, comps, and the dissertation lit review research.

  • Media PSY - Welcome! During this one-hour tour of the library, we'll talk about the kinds of questions you might have about research literature, and how the Fielding library can help you become a better scholar.  We'll explore 3 important aspects of the Fielding Library website: 1) How Do I guides (we may have already answered a question you didn't even know you had!); Full Text Resources (what they are and how to find them); and, 3) Research Databases (how to choose one and what to do next). This is an interactive class; questions and comments welcome at any time; a minimum of 10 minutes devoted to students' questions.

  • DOCS Library Instruction - This hour of library instruction is centered around the goals of Module 2 of DOCS: gaining a sense of the scholarly world.  We'll discuss differences between scholarly and non-scholarly literature and how to find both in the Fielding Library. We'll examine the various databases Fielding offers, how to choose one, and how to obtain articles relevant to your research. More specifically, we'll search for articles on topics suggested by students, and we'll use other available resources to help you locate some of the required and suggested readings within DOCS. Students' questions are encouraged throughout the seminar.

  • PSY 700 Library Instruction - We will perform searches on the topics provided within the PSY 700 contract.  We'll discuss the advantages of using the PsycINFO thesaurus as well as familiarize ourselves with several other databases that will be useful for psychology research. We'll search for some of the suggested or required readings using the Full Text Resources list, and learn what to do when something you need is not available through Fielding.

  • RaP Library Instruction for HOD - For one hour, a librarian will show how to plan, execute, and manage HOD-related research. For example, we can concentrate on human development and consciousness, organizational change models and consulting styles, social change in marginalized communities or phenomenological inquiry and practice, and how that relates to personal transformation and growth. Should time permit, we can also incorporate searches using students' own research questions as examples. We will show how to effectively use PsycINFO, our set of ProQuest databases, Sociological Abstracts, and other journal packages and databases we subscribe to as they seem relevant. Whether you're working on a KA, literature review, or dissertation proposal, this quick session is designed to assist you.

  • Fall Research Library Instruction for PSY - For one hour, a librarian will show how to plan, execute, and manage PSY-related research. For example, we can concentrate on TAT research, MMPI-related research, or cultural sensitivity in psychological assessment. Should time permit, we can also incorporate searches using students' own research questions as examples. We will show how to effectively use PsycINFO, our set of ProQuest databases, Medline, PILOTS (for PTSD studies), and other journal packages and databases we subscribe to as they seem relevant, such as our Wiley-Blackwell journals. Whether you're working on a KA, literature review, or dissertation proposal, this quick session is designed to assist you.

  • Find Full Text Fast - In this one-hour workshop, a librarian will demonstrate the most efficient ways of using the library system to find full text.

  • Boolean Searching - In this one-hour workshop, a librarian will show how to search library databases using the Boolean operators AND, OR, NOT. This is a time-saving technique that can help you search databases faster and more efficiently.

  • Finding Tests & Measures - In this one-hour workshop, a librarian will show some tips and tricks for finding tests and measures in PsycINFO, ERIC, and other databases.

  • Getting the most out of Fielding's Library - Ever wonder if you could save searches? Or even have the database run searches for you? In this one-hour workshop, learn how to get the most out of the Library databases by creating free accounts.

  • Cited Reference Searching - In this one-hour session, learn how to conduct cited reference searches in Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Google Scholar, and PsycINFO. A librarian will discuss the pros and cons of this technique.

- Content for these seminars is equivalent to that presented in Library Research Fundamentals and Online Library Database and Internet Searching seminars given in-person at Fielding sessions

Library Services also offers in-person seminars at major Fielding Sessions. Typically, seminars on search strategy development and online database and Internet searching are offered at PSY/HOD Winter & Summer, and ELC National Sessions. To see examples of presentations from past sessions, please check the Presentation Archive. Check the schedules and seminar descriptions for each Session for details on what and when presentations are given.

Beginning March 2003, Fielding's librarians are no longer available to offer workshops at cluster meetings.

 

Library Services

Profile ImageLibrary Services


Contact Info:
IM available Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 PST
Getting Help From Library Services
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait