Skip to main content

All About eBooks: Home

Information on our digital book platforms and how to use them.

What are e-books?

An e-book, also known as an electronic book or digital book, is a book that exists in electronic form, whether it started as a print book or not.

You can read our e-books on many devices:

  • computers
  • laptops
  • tablets
  • e-readers
  • smart phones

Why are e-books so Complicated to Use?

There are many different vendors that supply our e-books and each vendor has its own way to present a book and make it available to download or print. The first time a patron downloads a library e-book is always the most complicated, as software must be downloaded and registered. Once these steps are completed, repeating the process becomes, well, less complicated. Many library users (and librarians) may be overwhelmed and give up. DON'T GIVE UP! See the individual tabs in the top of this guide for instructions for each vendor. You can always contact us for help via email or chat from the chat box on the right side of this page.

e-books


The Fielding Library provides access to numerous e-books collections, providing you with access to over 204,000 books, as well as links to thousands of open access titles.

  • Ebook Central (previously Ebrary)
  • EBSCO
  • PsycBOOKS
  • Oxford Handbooks of Psychology 
  • Sage Research Methods

This guide will help you understand how to access different collections of e-books, as well as how to download them on a variety of devices. 

How do I find e-books in Fielding's collection?

Click on the "Journal and Book Titles" link on the left side of the library home page.

Next click on the "E-books Only" and then use the drop-down to select "title begins with", "title equals", "title contains all words" or ISBN equals and then type in one of these and search.

We own this title so a citation will appear and a link to the database that contains the book. Click and it will take you to the book. If you need help with how to use the e-book, see the other tabs in this guide for instructions.

Our Librarians

Contact us:

library@fielding.edu

Margaret Connors
Director, Library Services

Phone: 805.690.4373

Abby Rae
Librarian, Coordinator of Reference and Instruction

Phone: 805.898.2920

Lulu Coffey
Librarian

 

Chat With Us!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.