This is the "EndNote Web Basics" page of the "EndNote Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Fielding Graduate University

EndNote Web 

This guide shows how to sign up for an account and how to export or save citations from most databases.
Last update: Feb 23rd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.fielding.edu/endnoteweb  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

EndNote Web Basics            Print/Mobile Page
  
 

EndNote Web Basics

What is EndNote Web?

Fielding students, faculty, and staff members have access to EndNote Web, a tool that allows you to build and maintain a personal database of bibliographic information, and to create bibliographies in word processing documents based on records from that database. It is entirely online-based, indeed the web-based "lite" version of Desktop EndNote, so all you need to access it is an Internet connection and a web browser.

EndNote Web allows you to import references from numerous library databases, edit their details, use over 2,300 publishing format styles, and transfer references between EndNote and EndNote Web. For more detailed information, please see the EndNote product info page.

How do I create an EndNote Web account?

The first time you use EndNote Web, or whenever you create a new EndNote Web account, you will need to access it from the Research Databases page. To do that, select EndNote Web from the pull-down menu near the top of the page, and then select the Go! button. Or, you can look at the description for EndNote Web, and access it from there (at the top of the description, click on the hyperlink EndNote Web to access it).

Accessing it via either method will bring you to the ISI Web of Knowledge Portal. Click on either My EndNote Web at the top of the screen, or Register under Customize Your Experience in the bottom right section, to create an account:

Signing up for EndNote Web account from Web of Knowledge Portal

If you clicked on My EndNote Web, on the next screen you will need to click on Register:

Registering from My EndNote Web screen

That will take you to the User Registration page. If you clicked on Register under Customize Your Experience, you will go straight to the User Registration page. Regardless of how you get to the User Registration page the email address you enter when signing up will be your username for your account, so please enter an authentic email address that you indeed use. Why? In case you lose your login information for that account, you can retrieve it again via that email address. Note that you can create as many accounts as you wish, but you will need to create each account using a different email address.

How can I access EndNote Web once I have an account?

You can simply go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com and log in using your email address and password each time you want to access your account, for up to 12 months.

To renew your 12 months, sign into your EndNote Web account(s) in the ISI Web of Knowledge Portal. Each time you do that, you are given 12 months' worth of roaming access using http://www.myendnoteweb.com.

If you leave or graduate from Fielding, you will continue to have access for 12 months from your last sign in via the Portal. To access your EndNote Web account after signing into the ISI Web of Knowledge Portal, click on My EndNote Web in the bottom right section, under My Web of Knowledge (and also note the other features available, such as Saved Searches and Citation Alerts):

Accessing EndNote Web Access After Signing On

Then log into EndNote Web on the next screen, with your username (the email address you signed up with as your username) and password.

What's the difference between EndNote and EndNote Web?

EndNote is a more comprehensive bibliographic management product, and resides and stores information on your computer's hard-drive. Think of EndNote Web as "EndNote Lite" in that it doesn't offer all the features that desktop EndNote does. And unlike with desktop EndNote, EndNote Web software itself resides on that company's servers, along with the references in your accounts. So while EndNote Web is not nearly as comprehensive as EndNote, it has two advantages: 1) since it can be accessed anywhere, on any computer, it allows you the flexibility to not have to rely on your own computer to import references to EndNote, and 2) the information in EndNote Web accounts is stored on their computers and not yours, minimizing the risks to data loss if your hard-drive is destroyed or damaged. For more information on the two products, please see Thomson Scientific's (the company that produces both) comparison page.

Can I transfer references between EndNote and EndNote Web?

Yes, you can. For more information on transferring from EndNote Web to regular desktop EndNote, see the FAQ on the EndNote Web web site Can I transfer references from EndNote Web to EndNote Desktop? You can also transfer references from desktop EndNote to EndNote Web. For more information on that, see the FAQ How can I import references from EndNote? See also How many records can I transfer between EndNote Desktop and Endnote Web at one time? Please note that you should generally never have important information in only one place, and certainly not only on a server on the Internet, in case that server fails. If the information in your EndNote Web account(s) has any value to you, you probably should routinely back it up to EndNote, or back it up via other methods. There is always the possibility, even if remote, that EndNote Web may discontinue operating or being accessible, for unforseeable reasons, and with little or no notice. The Fielding Graduate University takes no responsibility for the integrity or any loss of the data that you keep in EndNote Web.

How many records can I store in EndNote Web, and can I share them?

You can store up to 10,000 records per account. You can also share your account with other Fielding colleagues if you so wish, but you will need to let them know your username (i.e. your email address) and password. Sharing access to an account is handy when working on a collaborative research project, for example. And, you can also share folders in your EndNote Web account with anyone else that has an EndNote Web account (even if they are not affiliated with Fielding). To do so, see the EndNote Web Sharing Folders Options Help Page.

What help/assistance is available for EndNote Web? .

Neither Fielding Library Services nor Helpdesk provides technical assistance for EndNote Web. But the folks at EndNote Web themselves do provide the following:

EndNote Web and the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) database

Since both EndNote Web and the SSCI database are produced by Thomson Scientific, you can seamlessly export records from that database into EndNote Web by doing the following:

  1. In SSCI results lists, after marking records you want to export into EndNote Web, click the Save to My EndNote Web button in the right section of the screen, under Output Records. This will save the selected records to your library in EndNote Web. If you have not yet created a library, clicking this button will automatically create one for you.
  2. After the records are transferred, click Done to return to the Summary or Full Record screen. To view the records just exported into your EndNote Web library, click the Go to my EndNote Web library link under the Save button.
 

Library Services

Profile ImageLibrary Services


Contact Info:
IM available Monday-Friday 8:30-4:30 PST
Getting Help From Library Services
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait