Take a look at our guides to help answer some frequently asked questions.
There are several ways to search for EBSCO eBooks:
Perform a keyword search of the eBooks database using the Find field.
Browse by Category by selecting a category from the column on the left.
View the Latest Added eBooks using the left and right arrows or click View All to view a result list of all latest added eBooks.
View Featured eBooks using the left and right arrows or click View All to view a result list of all Featured eBooks.
To search for eBooks:
Enter your search terms in the Find field and click the Search button
A Result List of eBooks related to your search terms is displayed.
Click the eBook Full Text link to read the book in the eBook Viewer tool.
Click the Download (Offline) link to check out the book and read it on your computer using Adobe Digital Editions. (See Downloading an eBook below)
Note: Libraries that have eBook download capabilities enabled, will see a Download (Offline) link.
Click the Table of Contents link to view the chapters of an eBook. You can go directly to a chapter in the eBook Viewer tool by clicking on a hyperlinked chapter.
Note: Sections in the Table of Contents with a plus sign (+) can be expanded further by clicking the plus sign.
eBooks may appear in the folder in three areas.
eBooks: When a user adds an eBook to their folder, information about the eBook appears in the eBooks area of the folder, without the eBook being checked out. eBooks may be added to the folder by clicking on the folder icon in the Result List or Detailed Record.
Holds: When a hold is placed on an eBook that is in use by another patron, it is added to the Holds area. Holds must be enabled by your library to place a hold on an eBook.
Checkouts: When an eBook is checked out, it is added to the Checkouts area of the folder. If you have not yet downloaded the eBook, it can be accessed and downloaded from here.
When accessing or downloading EBSCO eBooks, you may see the choice to select eBooks in either PDF or EPUB format.
EPUB is an open eBook standard and file format that is optimized for viewing on devices. It automatically resizes to fit your screen and when you adjust font size. EPUB is the recommended format for download and is compatible with many e-readers and reading apps, including the iPad/iPhone, Kindle Fire, Galaxy tablets, the EBSCO eBooks app, as well as the Bluefire app for iOS and Android devices.
PDF’s are not re-flowable, so their text size cannot be adjusted for display on various devices.
If enabled by your administrator, up to 100 pages of an EBSCO eBook can be saved or emailed as a PDF file (per user) from within the eBook viewer to be printed at a later time.
To save eBooks pages as a PDF:
Open the eBook in the eBook Full Text viewer.
Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Save Pages in the tools menu above.
The Save Pages to PDF menu is displayed.
Select to include in the PDF:
Open the saved PDF and use the Adobe Print function to print out your saved pages.
Note: eBook pages saved as a PDF can be transferred to, and read on eReader devices such as the Nook or Kindle. Consult your device's user manual for instructions on how to manually transfer files to the device.
All EBSCO eBooks are compatible with iOS devices.
In cases where an eBook contains Digital Rights Management (DRM), a DRM capable app is required to download and read the eBook.
The EBSCO eBooks app allows you to find and download eBooks right to your device. Learn more about the app.
In addition to the EBSCO eBooks app, other DRM capable apps, such as Bluefire, allow you to read EBSCO eBooks on your device.
For more information, see the following FAQ:
A Detailed Record can be viewed by clicking an eBook title in the Result list. From the Detailed Record, you can read or download the eBook using the links in the left column. From the right column, you can print, email, save, or export the record, as well as add the details about the eBook to your folder.
At the bottom of the Detailed Record, you can view Most Relevant Pages from this eBook and the Table of Contents. Both sections can be collapsed or expanded by clicking the plus (+) or minus (-) in the upper left corner of the section.
Most Relevant Pages from this eBook: Displays the most relevant sections of the eBook in which your search terms appear in the text.
Table of Contents: Displays the Table of Contents for the eBook you are viewing. Clicking on a hyperlinked chapter opens the chapter in the eBook Viewer tool.
eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link on the Result List or Detailed Record.
In the top toolbar of the eBook Viewer, you can click the Back to Results, New Search, or Exit links to check in the eBook after you have finished viewing it.
Included in the column on the left, are tools that allow you to view the contents of an eBook, search within the text of the eBook and save a note on the eBook in your My EBSCOhost folder.
Contents - Click to view the Table of Contents for the eBook title you are reading.
Search Within - Click to search for terms within the eBook.
My Notes - Click to view your notes or to create a new note about the eBook or a page of the eBook and save it to your personal folder. (PDF format eBooks only).
Included in the row of tools across the top of the Viewer, are tools that allow you to look up words in a dictionary and share eBook information.
Add to Folder - Click to add the eBook to your My EBSCOhost folder.
Save Pages - Click to save eBook pages.
E-mail Pages - Click to email eBook pages.
Cite - Click to copy citation information for the eBook.
Dictionary - Click to search for definitions of words in the eBook you are reading.
Export - Click to export citation information to a bibliographic manager.
Permalink - Click to copy a persistent link to the eBook.
Share - Click to share the eBook information on one of several social networks.
Download - Click to download the eBook to your computer for offline reading or transferring to a portable device. See Downloading an eBook.
When viewing eBooks in PDF format, the following options are available on the toolbar at the bottom of the viewer.
Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.
Fit Page Width: Click the icon to fit the page by width in the viewing area.
Fit Page: Click the icon to view the entire page in the viewing area.
Zoom Out: Click the icon to zoom out on the page.
Zoom In: Click the icon to zoom in on the page.
Page Navigation: Use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click Go.
EPUB is an open eBook standard and file format that allows you to increase the size of the font, enabling you to optimize the viewing experience on desktop computers, smart phones, and tablets.
EPUB format eBooks use vertical scrolling to display the text of each chapter. Use the navigation arrows to change the chapter you are reading.
In cases when you are viewing an eBook in ePub format, the toolbar appears as shown.
Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.
Zoom Out: Click the icon to display the text in a smaller font size.
Zoom In: Click the icon to display text in a larger font size.
Chapter Navigation: Use the navigation arrows to change the chapter or section of an eBook title you are reading. Contents of the chapter or section can be read using vertical scrolling.
EPUB format is not compatible with Internet Explorer browsers 7 & 8. When trying to open an EPUB format eBook in IE 7 or 8, you are prompted to upgrade your browser to IE 9. For more info about EPUB, click here.
While the text-to-speech feature is not available in the eBook Viewer, you are able to save parts of an eBook in PDF format and use the Adobe Reader Read Aloud functionality to hear the eBook section read out loud.
This help sheet demonstrates how to transfer an eBook to a portable eReader device using Adobe Digital Editions.
If you have downloaded an eBook into your computer for reading in “Offline” mode via Adobe Digital Editions, you may transfer it to a supported eReader device.
To learn how to download an eBook using Adobe Digital Editions, please see the Downloading EBSCO eBooks Help Sheet.
Before transferring an eBook, you will need the following:
A list of supported devices: Portable eReader supported for EBSCO eBooks.
Adobe Digital Editions installed on the computer.
Create a free, validated AdobeID.
To transfer an eBook from Adobe Digital Editions to your portable device:
Open your downloaded eBook in Adobe Digital Editions. If you have not authorized Adobe Digital Editions with your Adobe ID on this computer, you will need to complete that step first. You will be prompted to enter your Adobe ID and Password the first time you try to open an EBSCO eBook with Digital Editions on your computer.
Connect your portable device to your computer with a USB cable.
Turn on the eReader. If the reader offers an option to Recharge or Connect to the computer, choose the “Connect” option.
Open Adobe Digital Editions – it automatically detects the presence of your device and offers to authorize it with your Adobe ID.
Just as the Adobe Digital Editions software must be authorized with your Adobe ID, the portable device must also be authorized to be able to transfer protected content to and from the device.
Click Authorize Device in the resulting window.
Click Finished after your device is authorized.
After authorization, the device appears as a new bookshelf in your library. Transfer items to and from the device bookshelf by clicking on the book title, then dragging and dropping the title into the device bookshelf.
Note: Do not disconnect the device while you are in the process of transferring a title to the device.
These guides are from the EBSCO website.